Photo gear

Tell us about your gear and assist others in purchasing options
  1. Hey there,
    I've been using my Sony A6 for a few years now and it has served me very well. The camera itself is really good, its lightweight and great for traveling but powerful enough to still deliver beautiful images. Its only drawback is that it has a cropped sensor and a very limited array of lenses available on a budget. Has anyone used this camera? have you had the opportunity to try out the g-series Sony zoom lens and would you say it is worth the price tag?

This is becoming a serious set back for me. I have debated upgrading to the Nikon d810 for the wider array of lens choices as well as its special hydrogen-alpha light filter designed for astrophotography. Also if you've had a chance to use the Nikon d810 what is your opinion of that model?

Thank You,
    -Patrick.
    Replied 3 years ago, modified 3 years ago
  2. @ThreePointSoul: I have no experience with the Sony A6, yet I do have 3 years of experience with the D800, the predecessor of the D810. After three years I still find it an amazing camera, its possibilities far outreach my skill.

Comparing it with a mirror-less camera though? The D800 isn't light. It is extremely powerful yet only with the best lenses, which are both expensive and weigh a lot. To me that is OK. I have invested in it over the years and the total system simply has nothing left to desire for. Shooting at 36MP on full frame with top lenses is fantastic.

However, if you value portability and your budget, you may want to reconsider. Also, you should never go for a D800/D810 using budget lenses. You only get value out of such a sensor with the best lenses.